Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RS232 Relay Switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Petrusvb

Hi

I am new to electronic but are currently in a jam with one of my clients. They have an access gate at their gym for which i wrote the software application. The gate can be opened in two ways:

1. From a normal button switch in the gate
2. From my software via the serial port by supplying codes to a PC board that will decide on receipt of the code one of the following situations (open gate once and close, keep open or reset gate).

The person who did this board don't exist anymore. The pc control of the gate has gone faulty and I am unable to fix it as the problem seems to be on the PC board.

I am looking for a diagram that will allow me to switch a relay on and close a relay from the serial port.

If the other functions can be incorporated it will be great else I will do it via the software, but I think this will be quite advanced.

I have search the web, but don't find anything except complete kits and the shops I visited in South Africa said I must bring a circuit and they will supply the parts, no kits.

Also I need to know if I can run the switching form the serial port completely or must an additional power supply be added (the existing board has an additional power supply).

As serial ports is becoming a thing of the past can this be done via USB and if so how?

Help will be appreciated.