Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RLC Circuit Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zirad

First let me say howdy, I am a newbie.
If you can refer to this website (a good one btw)
RLC Circuit
It is a 10 ohm resistor in series with a 1H inductor in series with a 15uF capacitor.
Once the switch is activated the circuit will charge and when the switch is opened the circuit will begin to oscillate.
Questions:
1. The voltage source is only 5V, but the peak voltage across the inductor can be as high as 12 V, why? Is this because of flyback?
2. If XL goes up or the resistance of the circuit goes up, will the voltage across the inductor also go up? Less current path and therefore voltage must go up across the inductor?
3. How can you calculate the VP across the inductor?
Thanks in advance :)

RLC Circuit
It is a 10 ohm resistor in series with a 1H inductor in series with a 15uF capacitor.
Once the switch is activated the circuit will charge and when the switch is opened the circuit will begin to oscillate.
Questions:
1. The voltage source is only 5V, but the peak voltage across the inductor can be as high as 12 V, why? Is this because of flyback?
2. If XL goes up or the resistance of the circuit goes up, will the voltage across the inductor also go up? Less current path and therefore voltage must go up across the inductor?

hi,
Breaking it down into simple steps.