Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

rise and fall of the clock

Status
Not open for further replies.

hitch

hi all

working with i2c and SPI and AT Keyboards, All of these things use a clock signal for data and so on.

my problem is - I am using oshonsoft pic basic, how do i check for a "falling" edge clock signal or a "rising" edge clock signal , i am not an electronic engineer so maybe i am not "understanding" the terms properly. I do grasp the obvious that rising edge is when the signal goes from 0v - 5v or what ever the voltage. So basically i understand the concept i just want to know how to code it in oshonsoft pic sim.

thanks

hi all

working with i2c and SPI and AT Keyboards, All of these things use a clock signal for data and so on.

my problem is - I am using oshonsoft pic basic, how do i check for a "falling" edge clock signal or a "rising" edge clock signal , i am not an electronic engineer so maybe i am not "understanding" the terms properly. I do grasp the obvious that rising edge is when the signal goes from 0v - 5v or what ever the voltage. So basically i understand the concept i just want to know how to code it in oshonsoft pic sim.

thanks
hi,
There a couple of ways, POLLING the pin to test its state or using INTERRUPTS.
PORTB.0 is a useful pin for this operation.

by polling you mean i use a loop and chk the state of the pin?

Code:
loop:
    if portb.0 = 1 then 
           ....code...
    end if
goto loop
[code]