Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Reverse Protection Diode

Status
Not open for further replies.

krich

I'm still pretty new to electronics, but I'm learning a lot as I go (usually from forums like these). I have a question regarding what type of Diode to use as a "reverse protection diode" in a very simple DC-DC 5V power supply (78L05 based, and a couple decoupling caps).

My goal is to protect the board from someone hooking up the DC power source backwards. Clearly this is the job for a diode in series on the positive connection. I've done this before and have used just a 1N4001 for the job, but my current project is all SMD parts, so...I'd like to use something I have in my surface mount parts cabinet. All I have in SMD for diodes is Zeners (not good), or Schottkys (STPS140, to be exact).

My question is...is there any reason that a Schottky won't work in this case where I would normally use a general purpose diode? In electronics, I've found that the devil is in the details, so I worry I'm missing something here. The STPS140's have If=1A, Vr=40V, and Vf=0.5, all are well over what I anticipate will be needed in this circuit.

Thanks for any input.

Ken.

Last edited: