Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Resistor size for optoisolator

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnnyB60

Hi all, since I’m a newbie, I thought I would let you know where I’m at as far as electronics. I’m not an electronics tech so I don’t know a whole lot, but I have had some classes in collage about 30 years ago. I only remember or know enough to be dangerous. :D

I’m trying to use optocouplers to connect board that controls LEDs to provide open/short inputs to another board. The LED board has a 5VDC low current output with a common negative ground. I bought PS2501-1 Optically Coupled Isolators from Jameco but I cannot figure out what size resistors to use between the anode and 5V power. I used an online resistor calculator and I tried to test it with a 220 Ohm resistors and a 4.5V power supply, but I don’t know if I burned it up or if I maybe got it to hot with a 15 watt soldering iron. Anyway the coupler is done and there is no more life to it.:(

I’m giving up on trying soldering it and I’m placing an order for some sockets and replacements for the bad ones, but I also want to order the correct size resistors. So can someone tell me what to order?

The IR LED has a forward voltage of typically 1.17V as listed on its datasheet. so with a 4.5V supply the 220 ohm resistor has 4.5 - 1.17= 3.33V across it and then its current is 3.33/220= 15.1mA. Its max allowed current is 80mA when it will be very hot.