Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Resistor & ground query

Status
Not open for further replies.

NHN

Hi

I'm a novice compared to many, but got a fair head on my shoulders IMHO anyway, but I do have a question if you could help please.

I'm working on a mod for my car which involved some circuitry, which works & designed etc, but I was wondering this.

Ok I notice they use a ground to signal some circuits, but also I notice the same circuit also uses a ground routed through a resistor obviously for a 2nd signal on same wire which cuts down on multiple wires, can someone advise what the ground through resistor achieves please, as in surely a ground is a ground???

Thanks in advance.

Without knowing the exact modification you are referring or the circuit to which you speak, and working on some of your language, I think you may be talking about transistor biasing i.e. a pulldown resistor or current limiting on the grounded connection of a transistor.

Some logic circuits that switch (or signal as you put it) a transistor will use a ground to turn a transistor on or off. With bipolar transistors, since the base current controls the E-C current, the base has to be current limited per the input voltage to properly switch the transistor. With a PNP transistor that is being turned ON by applying ground to the base, you are current limiting the voltage applied to the emitter as it is drawn to ground through the base.