Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Resistor for LEDs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bromosapien

Hey guys,, i am new to the forum & fairly new to the whole electronics realm//

Heres my story.. I am a musician & play bass guitar.. I have two instruments that use an active tone preamp . One uses one 9v batt and the other uses 2 9v. I have seen other guitars with a LED light to indicate battery life.. so id like to install them on mine. plus i think they look cool

Soo.. I went to radio shack and bought 2 2.1v, 20ms green LEDs. unfortunately nobody there knew anything about LEDs or resistors.. :/ of course

my question is what kind of resistor would i need??
i used an OHM law page and came up with a 390ohm 1/4watt resistor for 1 9v battery, and a 819.99 1 watt resistor for 18v. is this right???
My other question is are the LED lights going to effect the output or drain the battery faster???

I am good with alot of electronic installs, as long as all the right parts are there. I know to wire LED & resistor in series at least :)

Thank you so much for any feedback..

Use a standard value 820 ohm resistor for 819.99 it's close enough :) 1 watt will run cool. Multiply the calculated wattage by 2 or 2.5 to derate the resistor to run cool.
1/4 watt is a little to close for the 390 ohm job. Make it 1/2 watt.

Any thing that draws current from the battery will lessen its life.

If these LED's are going across the power source they shouldn't affect the sound.