1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Reprogram cow-computer / step counter (TI 430F1122)

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Landmer, Feb 1, 2015.

  1. Landmer

    Landmer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    We use these transponders at a farm. They are put on the cows necklaces and register how much they move around / number of steps. Once a
    day the cows pass by a reciever station (range 4m) that collects the data from the transponder.

    The transponders are glued together and not supposed to change batteries. But now its getting harder to find new transponders to buy when
    the battery runs out. The supplier want us to upgrade to a newer system with receiver unit and everything. I'd rather not..

    I sliced one open and changed the ┬ŻAA battery in a unit that had lost all battery power. But the receiver won't recognize it now anyway
    (each transponder unit has a 8-10 digit code / id).
    Here are some pictures of the unit
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I think the program is stored in the thing marked "430F1122"? Would it be possible somehow to read out the program from one of the units
    that have not yet lost its battery power, change the unit ID and burn it in to one of the units with replaced battery?
     
  2. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,331
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Assuming that is a pre-programmed micro-controller it's almost certainly read protected (as it's a commercial product).

    However, it shouldn't lose it's programming and required reprogramming anyway, so some kind of 'setup' procedure is probably required to set it back to how it was before. Any such procedure is likely to be unique to the person how designed it, so you would need to approach them to see if they would tell you how to do it (and supply the required hardware/software).
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. 4pyros

    4pyros Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes:
    282
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    What would happen if you replaced the battery before the old on dies?
    You may have to keep the board powered while replacing the battery, then it should loose nothing.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,392
    Likes:
    593
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    ONLINE

    I would be surprised if the ID number was volatile (ie lost during a power off/on cycle), I would hope that it is hard coded somewhere.

    As the thing is not working at the moment, I suggest a "hard reset". It cannot make things worse.
    Try shorting pin 7 (RST/NMI) to the 0v supply line (the -ve terminal of the battery) for one or two seconds, and see if that will kick it back into life.

    JimB

    Edited for typos and clarification.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2015
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,970
    Likes:
    1,099
    I agree with Jim. The datasheet is here. http://www.ti.com/lit/gpn/msp430f1122 Pin #1 is the pin nearest the dot on the chip or the left bottom of the chip in your pic. Count counter-clockwise.

    The 430 does have a One time programmable memory.

    Changing batteries in anything can be problematic. Meaning, the connection can't bounce unless you have an alternate means of resetting. Cutting and soldering to the leads left over would be what I would do.

    Make sure you replaced it with a lithium battery. This may be the battery without leads: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Xeno-Lithium-Thionyl-Chloride-Battery/dp/B000UU3P66#productDetails Don't try to solder wires to batteries unless the tabs are present.

    A possible lithium non-rechargeable battery: http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/TL-2150/P/439-1001-ND
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    These days I'd not be surprised if in order to force more cash out of you something within the unit is volatile, and its lost on powerdown, then you have to buy a new one.
    The operating system is probabaly on flashrom, it'll be an I'm alive code that is stored in battery kept ram or something.

    Jumper a pair of wires from another battery and quickly replace it, be quick as a large current will flow from a good to a dead battery.

    Also to spoil your day there could well be a timer, or more apt a calendar within the unit that states how long it'll work for if the battery lasts longer than the manufacts thought (or you replaced it).

    Reading the code will probably be difficult as most devices these days have read protect, as mentioned, which almost undoubtedly will be turned on.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Landmer

    Landmer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    Thank you for all the answers!
    This unit that I opened only had 0.1 volts when i measured. Is it possible that it will be enough to keep the memory even though the 430f1122 is rated at minium 1.8 volt for program execution?

    I have about 8 units that still have enough battery to communicate with the receiver unit. So on them I will try to change the battery with some backup power while changing.

    Thanks for the tip about hard reset! I will try that as soon as I get near the receiver unit in the farm.
    Sounds hopeful that the ID number shouldn't disappear in lack of battery as it seems unlikely that it would be possible to read out any program.

    The sender units are sold as glued together and not suposed to be opened with the argument that the batteries will last 10 years. But they only offer 5 years warranty. Now they are about 6 years old so I hope its no calendar function to stop work that is activated yet, but you never know i guess..
     
  9. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    Nope I dont spose the manufacts would admit to them programming the units to stop working after a certain amount of time.

    Allthough the chip runs at a minimum of 1.8v yes its quite possible that it will still at least retain its working registers at 1.1v. The other thing depnding what meter you use maybe the meter is dragging the volts down a touch, dont forget the chip is a micropower device consuming extremely little energy.
     
  10. Brevor

    Brevor Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Chicago USA
    Do you know what company manufactures these trackers?
     
  11. Micromotor

    Micromotor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Hello !
    Here I also have such a payment, with a collar of a collar.
    Producer Italy or Switzerland, I do not remember exactly.
    In the figure I drew the contacts that ring and connect!
    I'll connect via the programmer. I just want to find out what's written down there)!
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Micromotor

    Micromotor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
  13. Micromotor

    Micromotor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
  14. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,392
    Likes:
    593
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    ONLINE
    :eek:
    Maybe nobody here knows the answer. :(

    JimB
     
  15. Micromotor

    Micromotor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    I found out that this, this is the inclinometer. and you can add a memory chip to the board.
     

Share This Page