Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Relay Wiring for motor reverse. PLEASE HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

kzuk

Hello everybody, I am very new to this and am looking for some much needed help. I work on cars and am relatively familiar with DC relays. I am in a very tight time crunch and really need some help. I am a graduating senior in Mechanical Engineering and am building a motorized system to automatically place a golf ball on a tee. The motor I am using is a paper shredder motor that I re-geared for two shafts. The switch is just like any other shredder motor, an "Auto" switch that is triggered through a pressure switch, and a "Reverse" which when switched on is always running.

I need to activate that "auto" by a push button, (I think I have that figured out). Then within the arm I was planning on using a tilt switch to regulate how far the arm (that is like the track for the golf ball to follow to the tee) will go down just above the tee. Then (here is where I am stuck) I was figuring I need a DPDT relay to sense when that tilt switch hit, and activate the reverse of the motor, and then have a "stop" feature to power the motor down.

I thought this wiring portion was going to be easy for me, and I may just be missing something obvious, BUT this initially was not due until May 30th, but They e-mailed us last wednesday and moved the due date to this friday. and This wiring is the main thing holding me up.

ANY help will be greatly appreciated!!!!!