Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Relay circuit help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Omega Ra

Hey guys. a little background first. I am making a robot lawnmower based on a simple relay circuit. This is my first time making a circuit and it works, but not as I expected it to. The way I thought it was going to work was, robot goes forward, hits bumper which activates a switch to switch the relay, thus reversing polarity on motors causing it to reverse (does this) but I put bigger Caps on one relay thinking it would hold that relay open longer and thus the wheels would turn backward slightly longer than the other side, thus turning the robot when it backs up. However it only backs up, then sits there for a second then goes forward again. Here is a drawing of my schematic (sorry I am not good at it). With one alteration, I forgot to draw in the Resistors (0.25W 10 Ohm) before the first diode. toward the side I drew what the relay connections are a little bigger so it is easier to see. On one side/relay I have 2 220uf capacitors, and on the other I have 1- 220uf; 1 - 470uf and 1- 1000uf capacitors.

As I said it drives forward fine, when it hits it's bumper it does back up, but instead of turning, it backs up slightly, sits there for a second and then just goes straight again...any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi,

If you can redraw it again proparly and provide sort of numbering for refrence, this mekes it much easy for us to under stand and help you if possible.