Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Rectifier with unity power factor

Status
Not open for further replies.

yuchween

I have a question on my thesis topic-Rectifier with unity power factor.
I am a student from studying in Australia and i have taken up a thesis topic regarding Rectifier with unity power factor.

My supervisor said that i am able to build a rectifier circuit using power factor correction ICs. I have surfed the internet about PFC ics but i still dont really understand how to use this IC.

Is there any sample circuit that i can refer to please? and also what is a rectifier circuit with unity power factor used for? is it for a stable DC supply?

I hope i can have a reference circuit on this rectifier with unity power factor.

thank you in advance.

It would help if you told us which IC you were talking about.

I'm confused about something. After you rectify an AC waveform isn't power factor an irrelevant and meaningless concept?

After you rectify an AC waveform isn't power factor an irrelevant and meaningless concept?
Yes, but it is VERY meaningful at the input to the rectifier due to the way that a capacitive input rectifier circuit loads the AC line. Basically it's because the rectifiers only draw current at the peak of the AC waveform.
For more:
**broken link removed**

Power Factor Correction