Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Rechargeable LCD Monitor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sixwheeledbeast

Hi all,
I have just aquired myself a 7 inch LCD monitor from a local car boot.
I thought this would make a useful test monitor as I am a CCTV engineer.
It has come with a dc plug with 500mm length of wire cut off
The unit is a tevion TWS704. 9 Volt dc.

My idea is to have some sort of battery pack that I can plug it into my van to charge while i am driving. Then when I arrive on sited I can use the unit "wirefree" up my ladder.

I can get hold of a large varity of 12vdc sealed lead acid batteries can this be charged via my van and use a simple 9 volt zener circuit.
Is this the best method, any help/idea greatly appreciated. Thanks

I'd use a standard 3 pin 78x08 8 volt regulator, with 2 silicon diodes in series on the common terminal..
Should give you about 9.2v......

hows about using a LDO regulator, such as the LM1084 ... It has 1.5v of dropout at 5a and considerably less at lower current levels

It will make your gel cell last longer.

If you can measure how much current your lcd needs, another solution would be a boost converter. Something like the Anyvolt uses a buck-boost topology making it ideal for batteries ... start with a 4 pack of AA's or C's or whatever you can get ahold of cheap, and the anyvolt will suck them dry for you.

https://www.dimensionengineering.com/AnyVoltMicro.htm