Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Really basic PIC question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Froskoy

Hi,

I'm just starting out with PIC and am reading a couple of books.

Just one thing that I've been searching around to try and find an answer for and can't - wondered if anyone could help?

OK so normally with hexadecimal I'd just write F0 to represent 11110000.

So why in the instruction
Code:
movlw 0xF0
is the 0x bit in there if I wanted to move the number F0 into the working register.

Also why do the books supersede the F0 with an 'h' to make F0h?

Sorry for probably being a noob but these are issues I'd really like to sort out early on.

Thanks very much,

Froskoy.

I"ve seen that too , it means all the same I think " movlw 0xF0h "

If the compiler compiles the instruction , than it's alright

Last edited:
'0x' tells the assembler that it is hex, as does h'07'.
It's just that there are various different ways to do the same thing.

Hi,

0xF0 is just one of the ways to let the complier know that the value F0 is in hex.

Typical case would be 12 - is that number in hex, decimal, octal, ascii etc etc ?

When you start programming some code in a 'project' the system will have a default Radix setting so any number you code without clear indication is automatically assumed to be the type held by the default Radix.