Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

reading ports...

Status
Not open for further replies.

me-electro

hi...

I am a new member...

I am doing a project using PIC16F877...

and it's my first time using microcontrollers...

I want to reed a value using this PIC and store it in a register inside...

BUT... I don't know how...

SO... can any one who know it help me...

thaks alot...

:oops:

You are going to need certain tools that are a must....
You need to have a compiler..... assember, basic, C.... for the langague you chose to use.
Then you are going to need a programmer like the EPIC..... so that you can download to the PIC the program you wrote

Depending on each program you read and store ports pins....

Good Luck

Ivancho

hi again..

thanx alot for answering me...

all the things you all said I have already...

BUT... I don't know how to write that program that will read the value and store it inside a register..... :shock: :?:

me-electro said:
hi again..

thanx alot for answering me...

all the things you all said I have already...

BUT... I don't know how to write that program that will read the value and store it inside a register..... :shock: :?:

You don't actually mention what sort of value it is you want to read, do you just mean reading a digital value from a port, or reading an analogue value. The first is extremely trivial, the simplest thing you could possibly do with a PIC - the second is pretty easy, but takes a few more lines.