Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Reading/outputting voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

magna

Hello

I'm new to this whole "PIC" world although have a fairly good understanding of programming (vb/etc).

I need to create a device that will read voltage from a signal, and possibly output a voltage aswell.

What would be the best PIC to use for this scenario?

Does anyone have any URLs with examples that would do the above, or close to it for reference?

Thank you!

John Sorensen said:
Why do you assume it has to be a pic?

j.
What else could I use for this? I need to do a lot of programming logic with the voltages that are being read.

Thanks

Exactly.....
I have used the MC145041 from TI https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2004/03/tlc542.pdf
11 ch, on chip clock, serial interface no external part req, set it up in 5 min, using VB4 and inpout32.dll the software was done in 45 min. "My first SPI code" :roll:
PIC is very useful in 1000's of applications but many times just complicating the project...
There is many I2C or SPI AD/DA converters available, even a 8bit parallel AD can be simply connected to your PC.
:idea:

Steve

So I can program the TI chip just like a PIC chip then? Do you have any links for the software used, or example code for this chip?

PIC is a brand name for a microcontroller. There are a lot of other brands of microcontrollers. I think thats what John is talking about.