Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Read USB stick

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spadez

Hi.

Im fairly new to electronics but I have a project coming and one of the major aspects is that I want to be able to plug a USB stick into my project and read a file off this drive. Then I want to compare the contents of this file (it will be a simple hex) with a hex in the register of the pic.

How complicated is this? Is there a specific PIC or module which will make my life a little easier?

Any input you can give will be appreciated,

James

I seen the Vinculum used for USB host thumb drive reading. Also there's a separate chip that allows host operation. Someone here had a good blog on it, but I don't remember the name. Also, I know some of the ARM chips I'm using have limited host ability, but I haven't played with it at all. However you try it, it's complicated and difficult. It would be far simpler to replace the USB drive with a SD Card if you want to just be able to carry around a file system that can be read/written by a computer. SD Cards are not that difficult to read/write to by a microcontroller.

Thank you for the feedback. So I should research USB host controllers for microcontrollers?