Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RC jet sound effect generator project

Status
Not open for further replies.

FMD

Hello all, my first thread here.

I am interested in making a small, lightweight noise generator, amp, speaker circuit for a radio-controlled jet. I am hoping to use some of the components from those musical greeting cards if possible.

Does anyone know how to do this? I am a complete newbee to this stuff but am a fast learner with some help.

The plane will carry an 11.1v battery or the device could have an independent power supply if light enough. Here is a photo of the "jet" almost complete.

Any help would be much appreciated.
FMD.

Attachments

• voodoo 024.JPG
    voodoo 024.JPG
    119 KB · Views: 457
The sound of a turbine is pretty distinctive, you'd need variable mixed tone generator that was coupled to the throttle, or people would know it's a fake sound right off the bat unless you were flying with a fixed throttle over a long distance, the eye/ear wouldn't match from people's experience. That'd be a bit of a project to bite off if you don't have a clue as to what you're doing.
Simply playing back a fixed sound over a speaker is not gonna work, especially considering how loud you need it to be at a distance to even know it's there, it'd be a relatively decent amount of the power from your battery pack.

Last edited: