Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RC-5 Infrared encoding with PIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay.slovak

Hi guys,

My Philips TV's remote died, and I need to tune-in some new stations. I have a replecement remote, but it can only do some basic comands (volume, station, off). So I was thinking, I can build a remote with a PIC. (I only want it to send the required Tuning functions)

I studied I bit. Found out RC-5 encoding principle.

I connected a LED directly (via 180ohm resistor) to 18F2620 (was at hand) CCP2 output. I realize this will produce a very weak IR signal, but I only need it to tune-in new stations. So far, I can produce modulated IR signal at 36.31Khz with 889uS deleys between modulation pulses as seen on these **broken link removed**. I am using CCP2s PWM fucntionality to generate 36Khz carieer, and I modulate it by altering TRIS register. I used my digital camera in night vision mode and my Hi-Fi set (which flashes a LED everytime it sees a carieer) to confirm this technique works. My TV, however doesn't react to Device code 0 and function code 0.

My question (to anybody who has done this before, maybe Nigel ;) ) is what is the requered precision of the carieer freq. (eg. will it accept 36.31Khz ?) and how precise should the time-slots be? The source states: "Constant bit time of 1.778ms (64 cycles of 36 kHz)"

Any advice will be helpfull.

Jay.slovak said:
Hi guys,