Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Quick question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nuxse

I'm completely new to this world of electronics. Not that I don't use them, but to the whole building it from scratch...

Anyway... What I'm trying to do is take the electric signal from my headphone wires and make that signal run some LEDs. But the strength of the signal isn't strong enough to make them light up.
So is there anything out there that could amplify the signal or something? Or something that would make the lights turn on, but the lights would use power from an external source?

Thanks for any help you guys can provide

There are ready-made devices that can do this, or you can build it yourself. You're correct in thinking that some kind of amplifier (or switch, more properly) is needed; the headphone signal isn't strong enough to light LEDs directly.

What electronic skills do you have?
  • Being able to read a schematic (this is essential, and not rocket science)
  • Soldering or breadboarding
  • Looking up stuff on-line or in the library

People here will probably be glad to help you come up with a simple DIY "color organ" (that's basically what you're asking about here).