Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Questions on a kit schematic

Status
Not open for further replies.

krich

I've found a kit from this website that meets my needs for a project I am working on: https://www.kitsrus.com/pdf/k130.pdf

I am fairly new to electronics, however not new to technology (I'm a software guy). I'm learning as I go, so I wanted to understand the schematics of the kit before I build it, rather than just build it blindly.

I've been able to understand most of what's going on in the schematics (5V power supply with the Zener, potential dividers in front of the transistors), but there are a few things that are eluding me. Primarily I am confused as to what the function of the 1N4148 signal diodes (D1, D2) are in the receiver module. Is D2 just there for the voltage drop? What purpose does D1 serve, being that it's simply connected between a voltage source and ground?

Thanks for any input on this.

That part of the circuit is a voltage doubler which is explained **broken link removed** in greater detail. It converts the AC waveform from Q1 to DC to light the LED (L1) and turn on Q2.

I recognise that circuit as a voltage doubler but thought it would only work with true AC and not pulsed DC. In a voltage doubler C1 would charge via D1 on the negative cycle whereas in that circuit C1 discharges via D1 and R3 on the off cycle. Or am I missing something?

Mike.