Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Questions about DC heating circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraBMB

Hello,
I am planning to make a heating circuit that works with a battery. I need it to generate a low heat; I want it to only heat my coffee when it gets cold not to boil it. So, what is a good simple circuit I can use?

My idea is to make the circuit heat up a small heating element that will be placed underneath the cup.
Any suggestions or ideas? I am a beginner so I don't know much about producing heat, I wish someone can help.

Thanks.

Hello there Sara,

The simplest way is to use some resistors and a DC power source. Resistors generate heat as R*I^2 so that is the basic principle at work here. It also helps to distribute the heat over the surface a little.

So say you want 10 watts of heating. Just for a simple example, say you have a 10v source. A 10 ohm 20 watt resistor would draw 1 amp from that 10 volt source, so the heating in watts is:
P=10*1^2=10 watts.

Say you use a 5 ohm resistor, then since Ohms Rule gives us:
I=V/R=10/5=2 then the current is 2 amps now, so we would see a greater power:
P=R*I^2=5*2^2=20 watts.