Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

question about my calculations

Status
Not open for further replies.

dak246

Im studying up on basic electronics theory because im still kind of new to all of this but now im stuck. I cant seem to get to the right answers for this practice problem:

Given that E=10V rms, f=15kHz, R=8.2k, L=40mH, and C=0.004uF;

Find the values of IR, IL, IC, IX, IS, ZT and the phase angle; the second letters of each should be read as subscripts.

I am getting the following;
IR=1.2mA, IL=2.7mA, IC=3.8mA, IX=1.1mA, IS=1.7mA and ZT=6046 Ohms

In getting those values i had to also get XL=3769.9 Ohms
XC=2652.6 Ohms and XT=8950.2 Ohms

Supposedly the answers should be as follows;
IR=1.22mA, IL=3.62mA, IC=2.76mA, IX=0.855mA, IS=1.49mA and ZT=6710 Ohms and the phase angle should be +35 degs.

Also since according to my calculations XL > XC, shouldnt the phase angle be negative because the source current will be leading the source voltage?

Thanks for any help.

Can you tell us how these components are interconnected, i.e., provide a schematic?

Its a simple circuit, consisting of one inductor, one capacitor and one resistor, each parallel to each other and connected across an alternating voltage source.

Hi there, ive give it a go but its been a while since ive done this.

**broken link removed**

I get:

XL = 3769.91 ohms
XC = 2652.58 ohms

IR = 1.22mA
IL = 2.65mA
IC = 3.77mA

Is = 1.65mA

Z = 6060 ohms