Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

question about flyback diode

Status
Not open for further replies.

nrebol

hi, i am a physics student and i am building a circuit to connect to a very large inductor used in a Magneto-Optical trap. Basically she wants to eliminate the voltage spike resulting from turning off the power to the inductor, so she had me test some diodes in a flyback circuit. (i attached the circuit diagram). the problem is the diodes don't actually reduce the spike to a decent level. In fact, the BJT in the circuit does the most to reduce the spike. Also, i occasionally get a oscillation in the voltage as shown in the other image attachment. Neither myself nor my professor can explain why the oscillation occurs.

anyone's help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance

Attachments

• realcircuit.jpg
    realcircuit.jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 632
  • bat_bjt_diode.JPG
    bat_bjt_diode.JPG
    908.1 KB · Views: 353
What is the current and voltage of the inductor? What are the supply voltages? What is the diode rating?

With the circuit in the thumbnail, the inductor voltage should drop to about -0.7V when the transistor is turned off, since at that point all the inductor current should be flowing through the diode. If that is not what you see than the circuit must not be wired as shown.

Also, I don't understand your comment that the BJT does the most to reduce the spike.

I don't see any purpose for the additional diodes.