Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Question about capacitors.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wubble

Hi everyone. I'll start off by saying that I'm completely new to electronics. I've wanted to try doing some small projects for a while, and when I stumbled upon this forum, I decided to finally give it a go.

I found a good tutorial that explained how resistors, diodes and transistors worked, and how to use them in a circuit, but they didn't mention capacitors. I know the princible behind them, but not how to use them in a circuit.

For example, I've been wanting to build a bug zapper. Using a battery to charge a capacitor, and then the capacitor to quickly discharge and zap the bugs.

I made a quick drawing in paint of how I thought it would be.

**broken link removed**

When you turn on the switch, the battery charges the capacitor, and the capacitor discharges when a bug hits.

Have I understood capacitors correctly? Will the capacitor charge, even if the negative pole isn't connected to the negative pole of the battery(when the bug isn't there)?

Aha. So I guess both ends of the capacitors will need to be in contact with the battery to charge it. It makes a lot more sense as well, when I think about it.

Anyways, I made a new drawing.

**broken link removed**

This should work, then? The first switch charges the capacitor, the second one just to discharge it if it's charged with no bugs around.
The bug won't be there when it's charging of course.