Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Queries about DC to AC Inverters

Status
Not open for further replies.

dimper129

I am a student of Electronics Engineering. I want to design 12V DC to 220V AC 500W sine wave Inverter as my final year project. I have read in an article that by using the square wave the size of the wire used in the transformer can be reduced. I dont understand why? Can any one help me in this regards. Thank you.

Regards,

Adnan

I've never heard of this, but I don't know for sure either way. Can you point to where you read this?

I would imagine what he's read about is using a high frequency switch-mode design - where the transformer is only a tiny fraction of the 50/60Hz sized one.

You can use 2 stage DC-AC converter, first stage is a DC-DC, high frequency converter with high frequency transformer and the second stage is a DC-AC converter without transformer. You can make a sine wave modulation in the first or in the second stage of the DC-AC converter.
:)

Adrian,
YOU are supposed to design it, not us. i don't think you are even allowed to copy one from the internet.
We will help you with your design and we will discuss it with you.

Does the sine-wave inverter need to be efficient?

SIR I need a 1000w 12v dc to 220v ac inverter for my home as energy back up. I am very intrusting in electronic projects and want to design it my own.
Can any one plz help me. Kindley send me the circuit.
Thanks.