Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Q: Reducing/Modulating Starter Motor Torque

Status
Not open for further replies.

skiri251

Hello,

Complete newbie to electronics. I have mechanical engineering background but the memory of some electronics I learned in the past is quick to fade..

I have a sidecar rig (motorcycle and sidecar combination).
I built an electrical reverse gear for it.

Honda GL1500 motorcycle starter motor drives the sidecar wheel via friction wheel pushed against tire tread.

It kind of works but the friction wheel slips against tire tread and wears quickly.

Mechanical solutions will be to increase reduction ratio or to use different drive mechanism (e.g. chain/sprocket) but I am wondering if I can solve this electronically by reducing/modulating motor torque.

I googled and found MOSFET based PWM but no off-the-shelf controller (with reasonable price) for my application. I don't think I can design it by myself.

So I wonder what if I put a power resistor to reduce a voltage to the motor. I know this is very crude approach but will it worth a try?

I still need to figure out what resistance and wattage..

Could any one point me the right direction?

Using a resistor for something so high powered seems like a lot of heat generated and a massive really hot resistor. It simply might be too crude to use for something so big (especially if it's going to run continuously). Is this too complicated for you?
**broken link removed**