Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PWM Signal Repeater for Inductive DC Load

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikahB

Hi guys, new to the forum and new to circuit design. I'm a mechanical engineer and recently came upon a need that seems like a good opportunity to expand my electrical work beyond just wiring cars.

I need to add a second motor to an vehicle where the existing motor is driven from an OEM control module (it's a vehicle LAN network node and implements closed-loop control logic). The output from the OEM controller is a 0-12.0V PWM signal and the controller is rated at 15A continuous and 30A max.

I thought I could use the existing output signal as a gate driver for a pair of parallel N-channel MOSFETs to step up the current capacity to double (at least) that of the OEM controller. I have already verified through experimentation that the control logic will handle the second motor, I just need to be able to drive it safely.

Attached is the circuit diagram I've come up with. I've also been looking at candidates for the MOSFETs and the IXFE48N50Q from IXYS looks promising. First question, though, is am I on the right track with the circuit design?

I appreciate any information or feedback you can provide and look forward to learning more about circuits.

Attachments

• pump_signal_booster_v1.1.png
    pump_signal_booster_v1.1.png
    41.4 KB · Views: 174