Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

pwm contoller

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmecherul

Hi all

I am looking on building a pwm controller to control the speed of a dc-motor. I have looked at a bunch of info, but due to being a beginner I am lost. I need something that can:
-regulate the speed from 0-100%
-handle up to 120 amps
-use 5KHz frequency or regulation
-be able to input 12-24v

Any help with a schematic and/or bom would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Jmecherul

Here is a controller that can be modified to your requirements:

<snip: spam links deleted>

Attachments

• schematic-1.gif
    schematic-1.gif
    23.6 KB · Views: 246
Last edited by a moderator:
Hi

Thanks for the schematic, but this looks a little more complicated for my needs as i do not need any receiver, no braking, no inverter etc. Also, what is the purpose of having so many FETs?

Jmecherul

Each FET will only pass about 30 amps. But if you de-rate each FET the turn-on voltage across them decreases and the heat generated is less. The total current for the Xenon-9 is 250 amps. You can use any number of FETs according to your current requirement.
You can also use only those parts of the circuit that are needed for your application.
The whole circuit is just a series of "building blocks."

Colin Mitchell
TALKING ELECTRONICS.com

So, the more FETs you have in "parallel", the lower the voltage across them, the higher the load current?