Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PWM capability of a microcontroller?

Status
Not open for further replies.

s3elan

Hi there I am 69 and probably left it a bit late to start learning about Microcontrollers. I am studying PWM at the moment but have got stuck with my understanding of how it works. I will be using a pic 12f683 for this project which is to do with fading LED’s from off to full brightness in about 2 secs. The Fade register is incremented in a linear way (adding 1 each cycle). The look up Table (8bit) converts it and returns an adjusted value to give a non-linear progression for CCPR1L allowing a consistent progressive fade ON of the LED's.

My question is that I understand that it is possible to have a 9 or 10 bit CCPR1L resolution by adding bits 5 & 4 of CCP1CON. Nowhere can I find out what the controlling factors are or how to initialise the Pic to do this. Also I have been unable to find Assembly code that shows how to write to the 9 or 10 bit CCPR1L : CCP1CON registers. I think I might be missing something. Sorry if it is a dim question. I can only understand Assembly code.

Following are my notes on PWM. They may be hopelessly wrong but I would really appreciate some help with this. Kind regards.

Pulse Width Modulation General Concept

PWM is a method of controlling current in a circuit. The current is switched on and off at a pre-determined frequency. The period defines this frequency and is decided by the circuit designer.