Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pulling a voltage signal from an AC current transformer...

Status
Not open for further replies.

chuggins143

Hello all! New guy here working on a little problem that has me stumped... I'm relatively new to the electronics world and basically know enough to be really dangerous. :D

Ok, the project...
I have an AC current transformer that I purchased from Digikey (Triad Magnetics pn - CST306-3A) This has a primary amp limit of 25A. It has a very nice linear response when I'm measuring mA with a DMM.

For example, I have two Fluke 179's one has an amp clamp and gives me a reading of 1mA/A and my current transformer (CT for short) gives me a nice linear reading that corrisponds back to the clamp. In this case my clamp is reading .84mA and my CT is reading 4.45mA which translates into I'm pulling .84A The CT reading I calculate by multiplying .00445 X 200 = .89A If I increase my motor speed my clamp reading goes to 2.58mA or 2.58A being drawn and my CT reading is now 13.45mA or .01345 X 200 = 2.69 ...a 1/10th of an amp off, ok I can deal with that. ..and, technically, my clamp is only "good" down to 1A so there may be a little fuzz down where I'm reading.