Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

*psssssst* anyone know how to convert one long pulse into lots of little ones?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dazzlepecs

I shouldnt ask this because im in 4th year Electrical eng lol

but i have one long pulse from a sonar output (pulse length = wait before sonar trigger and echo IE range).. I cant count this in real time with my K8055 board using software (too slow AFAIK) so i want to use this HIGH signal to enable an oscillator or suchlike, and obviously it goes LOW when output pulse from sonar output is LOW, so i can count the oscillations while the output pulse is HIGH with the K8055 pulse counter and work out the range

any simple ideas how i can do this? As simple as feasibly possible?

thanks for any help or tips

Last edited:
I don't understand what you mean by your software is too slow to measure the echo pulse because the speed of sound is very slow compared to an MCU. Usually the problem is that the MCU is too fast and requires too large a counter register to easily measure something as slow as an ultrasonic echo. You could just tie several registers together. And every time a smaller register maxes out, it resets and increments the next largest register.