Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Proximity sensor circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

DAlgie

Hello, new to this forum, bit of a novice in this field. I have a metal sensing proximity sensor that I would like to use to switch an air solenoid for an autoclave door seal safety device. I assume that I will need to interface this sensor to some kind of SSR to step the signal up to actually switch the solenoid, which is about one amp. The prox sensor is a 12- 24VDC. I am not good at reading circuit diagrams, a description would be possibly better for me to get a grasp on the details if possible. I can provide more details but need to know what is wanted. Thank you to all in advance!
DaveA.

Do you have a data sheet for the sensor? I imagine there are hundreds on the market to choose from, kind of tough to decide what to do with it. 12-24vdc supply, might get lucky and it already contains the driver for a relay, 1 amp isn't too bad, might handle the solenoid as well.

I have a data sheet, I bought the sensor new from Automation Direct. It's a NPN type, normally open, 10-30 VDC 200 MA max.

I have a data sheet, I bought the sensor new from Automation Direct. It's a NPN type, normally open, 10-30 VDC 200 MA max.