Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Project enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

matejj

Hi all,
I am an electrical engineer and quite able in the electronic design. I am however completely clueless to enclosure design. I am looking for a case design similar to what we find in high end consumer products. For example the iPad and smartphones. Would anyone know what type of plastics are used and if there are commercial off the shelf enclosure sellers of this type of design?

I was just looking for inexpensive enclosures this morning myself. Check out mouser.com and see if anything there fits your needs. They have several pages (scattered in the section) of hand held enclosures. I didn't see anything that resembled a smartphone or iPad.

I did check mouser and many other websites of manufacturers. The designs are very low end looking.

If the pre-fab boxes are low-end looking at mouser and digikey from Hammond and Bud, then I would start looking at custom fab. On the other hand, I have found the quality of the look of pre-fab boxes can be brought up a notch, if you have a machine shop or fab house do the cutting/hole punching. Silkscreen sticker labels from a print shop will help as well (instead of using a label printer)