Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Programming a GAL with code for a lower spec device

Status
Not open for further replies.

Llamarama

Hello everyone, I have a circuit and .jed file that requires a GAL16V8, however I don't have any of those handy, but I do have several GAL20V10's in stock. What sort of editing will I have to do to the .jed file (if any) to get this to work?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, this is my first time working with these sort of GALs! :)

Thanks in advance, Mike

With out the source code; you will need to understand each and every bit in the GAL16V8 and understand each and every bit in the 20V10. Wow. I probably could have done it years ago when I worked with these every day.

Hello everyone, I have a circuit and .jed file that requires a GAL16V8, however I don't have any of those handy, but I do have several GAL20V10's in stock. What sort of editing will I have to do to the .jed file (if any) to get this to work?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, this is my first time working with these sort of GALs!

Massive editing. Even if you were experienced with these parts and their firmware, it would be easier to write a compiler from scratch. The good news is that most vendors have free compiling software.

ak

I have used PALASM and like it but I believe it has not been updated in more than a decade.
Glad to see CUPL is alive.

When I started with programmable logic every one made them. There were many types. Now they are hard to find. Not many sources.