Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Programmable current source

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnkaz77

Hi everyone,i want to make a programmable current source/sink (source or sink depending on a digital signal) but i am a beginner and i don't have a clue...It has to provide 0-10uA,10 bits resolution,can anyone help???

Here is a sink that is controlled by an ADC (assumed to be 0-5V). The sim shows its compliance is limited only by the supply voltage.

Attachments

• CurrentReg1.png
    CurrentReg1.png
    44 KB · Views: 290
Thank you!!!But,as i told you i don't know much,so could you explain the circuit a little bit?Also,do you have specific parts (op. amps etch.) to suggest for the implementation because i don't have much experience.

The OpAmp has feedback around it such that it makes the voltage across R2 (the 10K shunt resistor) follow the voltage at the non-inverting input. That determines the current through R2, which must be the same as the current through the load resistor (because the gate current of a FET is ~0).

The voltage at the non-inverting input of the OpAmp is divided down from the output of an Digital to Analog Converter (DAC, not ADC like in the schematic), e.g. a DAC6571. There are hundreds of similar DACs from various IC makers available.

The OpAmp could be a TLC2272 (dip package), or any of hundreds of similar ones available from various IC makers.