Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problems with 18f2455 and JDM

Status
Not open for further replies.

n8thegr8

Hi! I'm a noob here (and to microcontrollers in general) but I couldn't find anything relevant to my problem anywhere so i thought i'd post. I've built this obdII USB interface based off of the pic18f2455: **broken link removed**

I'm trying to burn the hex file for it using the diy JDM here:
**broken link removed**
(**broken link removed**)

My problem is, I've built it all, triple checked the connections, and WinPic still errors on flashing. The only thing I can see possibly wrong is that the Vpp is around 11.5 instead of the 12.5 for programming. The interface initializes perfectly in WinPic, Returns 1 for DataIn, but it fails in verifying by reading FF's in some places.

On that guy's site, he says something about WinPic not handling the config registers properly for the 18f2455, and that injecting two lines into the hex fixed it for him, but it doesn't for me.

Should I try to get the voltage up? or is 11.5 close enough? I'm at wits end here with all this. Thanks!