Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problems tinning soldering iron

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liam Blanche

I am new to electronics and am trying to make a simple power supply. The soldering iron and solder I am using can be seen here; https://www.rpelectronics.com/sr-1024k-soldering-iron-kit.html . I am having difficulty tinning the iron, the flux seems to evaporate before the solder has a chance to tin the surface of the iron and I am left with a dark char-like covering on the iron. In addition when I try to tin it at a lower temperature I find that the rosin core evaporates at a lower temperature than the solder melts. How do you fix this issue?

Are you using rosin core solder AND flux? The core of the solder IS flux. You don't need both.

The trick is to tin the iron AS it's heating up. If you let it heat up completely before touching the solder to it, the solder will simply ball up and won't properly flow over the tip. And heating an un-tinned iron to its final temperature will cause the tip to burn (turn black).

Matt

I think the soldering iron is too cheap and has nothing to keep it from getting too hot. The tip of my Weller temperature-controlled soldering iron is always at the correct temperature if it has been sitting doing nothing all day or if it is soldering big things all day.
The Weller tips last for many years because they never get too hot and come from the factory already tinned.