Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problems programming 16F84A-20/P

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daz

Hi all,

I am new to the world of PICs (love em!). I got my first 16F84 and made a programmer for it last month. Worked great so I ordered 5 more. This time they are the 16F84A-20/P model.

Of the 5, I am only able to program 2 of them. The other 3 are coming up with verify errors. Is it common to receive bad chips (3 out of 5 no less)? Or could there be something I'm doing wrong?

I'm using the Winpic Programmer and a home-built JDM (Serial) type of programmer. As I say, I can succesfully burn 2 of them, so I'm sure there's no problem with the programmer or software.

Thanks for any ideas you may be able to offer.

Daz

Daz said:
Hi all,

I am new to the world of PICs (love em!). I got my first 16F84 and made a programmer for it last month. Worked great so I ordered 5 more. This time they are the 16F84A-20/P model.

Of the 5, I am only able to program 2 of them. The other 3 are coming up with verify errors. Is it common to receive bad chips (3 out of 5 no less)? Or could there be something I'm doing wrong?

I'm using the Winpic Programmer and a home-built JDM (Serial) type of programmer. As I say, I can succesfully burn 2 of them, so I'm sure there's no problem with the programmer or software.

Thanks for any ideas you may be able to offer.

Daz

Welcome Daz,