Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pre-Recored Voice on Chip

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajsklar

Hello All,

I am a novice to most of this, still a student at a community college...
I am trying to build a talking GPS unit...
I can't seem to find the right chip to use to store and play back the audio.
I found a few "Text to Speech" chips, but the sample audio on line was not good...
So my next idea was to pre-record the audio elements needed,
then load them on a chip of some sort.
I have a list of about seventyfive words in all.
Like ONE. TWO, Twenty, Fifty, North and so on..
Place the elements on some kind of chip, each speech
element with its own addressable location and the
Pic 18F will parse out the incoming serial string,
pick the voice elements in the order needed and
send the audio on its way....
I have not rcorded the voice yet, I am not locked
into a file type, .WAV or other format is fine.
I would like solid telephone quality audio playback.
Say a sample rate of 8kHz, 80Hz to 3kHz, max storage
time is 120 seconds should work ???
Thanks in Advance,

Allen
Tempe Arizona

Last edited:
You might consider the voice record play back IC's by Winbond,
such as the ISD4002-120PY.

Hi ajsklar, the TalkBotBrain (thanks for the mention Mike) would probably do it although it is pushing your requirements a little as it is just below "telephone quality sound" although it does have built in tiny amp and will make understandable speech.