Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Powering a PWM valve with 24V PWM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie Janke

Hello new to the forum. Somewhat inexperienced with a alot of general electronics but i am a Mechanic and understand well 12V systems.

Please forgive me if i should have found my answer somewhere else.

My situtation: I have been asked by a customer to try run a John Deere GPS system on a new CAT D6T machine. I have made a way to provide 12V or 24V Diret voltage onto the Cat steer pump.

Problem: Cat currently steer the machine using a PWM 24V output from and ECM to the PWM valve on the steer pump. They strongly recommend not putting 24V Direct voltage onto these valves as it will drastically reduced the life.

Question: Is there a simply way of providing either 12V or 24V in a PWM current to this valve from either the 12v or 24V direct current.

I dont know the current requirement and or the Frequency that the valve would require to run at but can find out if required.

I would like to keep this system as simple as possibly as it will be on a Machine that will be in rural and remote areas and reliability is essential.

Thanks in advance for you assistance

Welcome to ETO!
I'm puzzled as to why you want another 24V PWM drive if the ECM already provides one, or why you need the 12V supply if the steering requires 24V PWM :confused:
Are you saying you want to replace an existing ECM system with a GPS system?
What are the signal/supply specs for the GPS system?