Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power Transformer Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

teehowe

Hello folks! I've got some questions about a power transformer I just obtained recently. This is my first attempt at building a dual +/-9V power supply. I do not have issues building the thing but I have questions on this model of transformer. Take a look at the picture attached:

**broken link removed**

As far as I know, the primary windings usually have two connections, one live and one neutral right? But this one has three and as stated on the plate, it's 230V - 115V - 0V. Does this mean this transformer has two modes (~20:1 and ~10:1)?

How do I connect these wires to a power plug anyway? I assume the signal (red or black) connects to the live and ground goes to neutral?

For the secondary winding, is it safe to assume that it means 12V, ground and -12V?

I could appreciate some safety tips on building a power supply. I personally got shocked by just measuring the DC resistance at primary (230V to 0V) without any connection to mains. I got a 40 ohms anyway.

Any hint would be greatly appreciated! Thanks and cheerio....

As far as I know, the primary windings usually have two connections, one live and one neutral right?
Assuming the main power supply is TN system, it's true.

But this one has three and as stated on the plate, it's 230V - 115V - 0V. Does this mean this transformer has two modes (~20:1 and ~10:1)?
Yes.