Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power supply design help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neptune769

Hello Everyone,
I am new to this forum. I have some electronics knowledge but not allot. I can read a schematic, I can build a kit and solder components. I don't know how to design a circuit. I need a schematic for a dual output power supply with an input of 19vdc 3.16. The output has to be 9vdc 1amp and 5vdc 3amp. The 9vdc is for a Hitachi VK-S274R survailance camera and the 5vdc is for the two servos for the Pan/Tilt and AVR. I had a book with schematics that would have what I needed but Hurricane Ike and the storm surge took care of that for me. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Dennis

19VDC is too high for a regulator designed for 9V/1A and 5V/3A. The extra input voltage will cause the regulators to heat too much amd maybe melt.

The input should be 12VDC for the 9V regulator and 8VDC for the 5V regulator.

I assume by "an input of 19vdc 3.16" you mean that you have a source capable of 19vdc @ 3.16Amps?
For a simple linear supply you would need 4amps input and very large heatsinks. To reduce the input current and the heatsink size required, you would need to use switching regulators which is more complicated. Is the source of "19vdc @ 3.16Amps" mains powered? If so, it'll be easier for you to get the proper "power bricks" for this project.