Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power indicator LED in High Voltage Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

captainate

Hey there helpful friends,

I'm still new to circuit design, although I've been building from schematics for years. I'm currently working on a microphone preamp project, and have recently built a high voltage power supply for the tube-based circuit (350V B+, tested with the help of a certified friend).

Please let me know if I am correct in assuming that I could drive a power indicator LED with my 350V power supply in series with a 22k resistor (R=350/.016). It seems like there would be high power dissipation through this current limiting resistor, but I don't have a lower voltage supply in this box. Is it ok just to use a large resistor here?

The 22k resistor will dissipate 5.5W so use a 10W resistor that will get pretty darn hot.

Is this a normal situation for an indicator light? Obviously they would have used incandescent lamps in the days of this original equipment, but it still seems a little silly to have such great power inefficiency.

Years ago you would have used a neon lamp. It takes 60 to 90 volts for then to work.
C2A_sml.jpg

I use 100K resistors with 115 volts and the LEDs glow nicely with no problem.

Try a 300K resistor and see if it's bright enough.