Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power delivered vs. absorbed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cifrocco

I found this Problem and Solution in a textbook.

Twelve years ago I graduated and received an Associate Degree in Electronics Engineering, although Electronics has always just been a hobby for me. Nevertheless, in my training I never came across this specific discussion of power being delivered or absorbed. Perhaps it's just another way of saying what I already know, but I thought I'd throw it out here and see what the experts among you think.

Attachments

• temp_131.jpg
    temp_131.jpg
    97.4 KB · Views: 4,661
P=IV plain and simple and is a scalar quantity

Take a battery. IF it is a 5V battery and it supplies 1A, then it is a "provider" of 5W.

IF there is a 5R resistor that has 5V across it, it is "dissipating" or "absorbing"

I think they are just writing in a different (be it confusing way) the difference between a load and a source. All power is positive.

So a current source that absorbs power is for example, a rechargeable battery that is in the process of being recharged?

that's an example, yeah.

intuitively, you know a battery provides power and a resistor absorbs/dissipates it. at the POSITIVE end of the battery, current flows out. at the POSITIVE end of the resistor, current flows in. it's just a simple matter of associating those two points.