Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power circuit required

Status
Not open for further replies.

Foxmeister

Hi all,

im lookin for some info, im an electrician by trade but dont do much with electronics so still an amateur really.

What im doing is building a sat nav(Sony aftermarket) into the car dash, completely flush and want it integrated to work with the car ie power etc. Problem is the power button is on the side of the unit and obviously needs pressed everytime to power on and power off the unit manually.

Ideally, i'd like to be able to wire this up to work with a switch live in the dash so it comes on with ignition everytime and off again when key removed, what would be required to do this??? Heard of a "555" circuit but have no knowledge of this, would this be a solution? Or is there any other ways?

Failing that i will just extend cables from the button and add a new button onto centre console somewhere

Cheers, Mick

Welcome to ETO, Foxmeister!
A 555 timer is a chip and really has nothing to do with what you are trying to do.
Are you willing to "hack" the sat nav (By that, I mean open it up and move around some parts, like the old switch)?
This would make it much easier, but it is also important to know how to solder. What kind of experience do you have with soldering, etc.?
Der Strom

Last edited:
Welcome to ETO, Foxmeister!
A 555 timer is a chip and really has nothing to do with what you are trying to do.