Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Portable Earth unit / vitual earth

Status
Not open for further replies.

mckayb659

Hi every one
I'm a telephone engineer and work out on the road fixing peoples phone. The testing equipment i use is the JDSU. I work on 50 volt circuits which is the norm for telephones. Alot of the tests i need to do i have to plug my meter in to an earth point. Not a problem in peoples houses an not a problem when i'm near peoples gardens as i can just plug an spike in to someones grass to get a good earth. There are times when neither is possible. Is there a unit i can build or purchase that would act as a portable earth or ground so if im up a telegraph pole i can get an earth point really easily to run my tester

Many thanks
Brian

Welcome to the forum!
Interesting problem, but if a voltage you're measuring is referenced to true earth IMO your meter will also have to be referenced to true earth. So even if you could create a virtual earth, that in turn would have to be referenced to true earth and would leave you with the same problem :(. I'm stumped, but others may have useful suggestions.

No, because you're measuring (as always) in reference to 'something' - in your case the reference is earth, a virtual earth would be no help at all.

All you can do is run a wire up the pole from an earth spike.

Thats really helpful many thanks that's save me a lot of time on wild good chases. Its a shame really cos it would be a pretty cool device.