1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Port forwarding for WebSDR?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by MikeMl, Dec 24, 2017.

  1. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,210
    Likes:
    569
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    I cannot get to w7rna.dyndns-remote.com:8901/ (The Sedona SDR)

    or 69.27.184.62:8901/ (The Half Moon Bay SDR)

    It used to work a couple of years ago, but now I cant seem to get through the firewall on my Actiontec GT-724-WG DSL modem. I had some issues with the modem, and lost the previous settings.

    No URL with :8901 appended seems to connect. What settings are required to allow connection to the WEBSDRs?
     
  2. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6,173
    Likes:
    529
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    I just typed in the second url and the site came up. I am on fiber optic with Armstrong ( a small regional ISP) and Chrome. Modem= Arris model TM822G . Most settings were simply default windows.

    If I knew which settings you need, I could check.

    For Sedona, Google did a search and came up with :http://w7rna.dyndns-remote.com:18901/ that also works.

    John
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2017
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,867
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    North west UK
    You should be able to connect Ok.
    Some Isp's do ot allow certain ports, might be worth a check on your Isp.
    You can for a short time enable Dmz on your router to see if the firewall is messing it up, but dont leave it on.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,210
    Likes:
    569
    Location:
    AZ 86334

    Got it working. In the GT724-WG modem, under the Security Tab:
    Under Port Forwarding:
    Click on User:
    Click on New:
    Make up a Rule Name: "Half Moon SDR", for example
    Select Protocol: "TCP,UDP"
    Port Start:8901 Port End:8901 Port Map Start:8901
    Click Apply
    Click Back
    On the Port Forwarding Page, click on the new rule you just created, then click Add.
    On the Port Forwarding Page, click on Apply.


    btw- I use the latest Firefox. That had nothing to do with the original problem.

    Next question:Can I avoid having to create a separate entry for every different :89xx port? I just found some I'd like to use that have a different port#
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2017
  6. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,867
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    North west UK
    That sounds like you have the Sdr and are connecting it to the web, I thought you wanted to access someone else's Sdr.
    You can also use Dns if you want a name rather than a Ip number.
     
  7. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,210
    Likes:
    569
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    I am using remote, publicly accessible SDRs from this list:


    DNS vs numerical URLs has nothing to do with it. Appending ":89xx" to either a numeric or text-based URL was being blocked by the firewall in my modem.
     
  8. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes:
    355
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    ONLINE
    Can you use port start 8900 and port end 8999?

    Mike,
     
  9. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,210
    Likes:
    569
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    Does opening a wide range of ports pose a security hazard?
     
  10. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,380
    Likes:
    665
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Obviously so, they are closed for a reason - open just the ones you need.
     
  11. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,867
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    North west UK
    I suggested Dns as a means of access other than numeric, of course if your server or Isp doesnt like it then it wont work.
    Certain port numbers are disliked by some Isp's, they say for security reasons, not sure why.
    A kiwi Sdr has just started up on the hills a few miles from me, and they have a Vlf loop, excellent!
    If I wanted to be really sad I could talk to myself.
    Someday radio will be a thing of the past at least for the average Joe, other than a microwave connection to the net.
     

Share This Page