Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PNP Voltage Switch Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hopperito

I'm definately not an electrical engineer, but I figured something this simple was within my limited grasp. I studied the schematic for my PIC programmer, researched via google, and found out the parts are ok substitutions. I want to be able to switch the 12v coming from my programmer board via the Vpp1/MCLR line to any one of multiple PIC chips. My programmer board does exactly that, but when I try to duplicate it on my breadboard, it fails. It works fine if the supplied voltage is 5v, but when I apply the 12v, it supplies 12v at the output no matter what state the input has. Could someone take a look and tell me what they see? Vpp3 is the output, and I'm using RD0 from my PIC to control the circuit's on/off state.

Attachments

• pnp_12v_switch.jpg
    pnp_12v_switch.jpg
    79.7 KB · Views: 731
If you can configure your pic drive as open collector (drain) it will work. 74LS06 is open collector. Check the datasheet on which pins can be used in this way.

Ah, ok. Does that explain why when I disconnect the line from the 7404 completely (like a high impedence state) the circuit DOES shut off? I toggle high or low, and I have 12v, but leave the line not touching anything, and it shuts off. That's what confused me. Live and learn I guess, thank you!

Oh, I don't have any 74LS06s lying around. Maybe I could do this with (pnp)3906s or (npn)3904s? Thanks for the help.