Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Please help me out. New user

Status
Not open for further replies.

guitarbuilder

Hi everyone
I'm a new user here and I'm new at electronics in general. I was wondering if you could help me out with a project I'm hoping to undertake. I have a lot of questions. I want to build a portable device that plays gameboy ROM files. For those of you that don't know, these are the full game files that can be downloaded from the internet and played using a gameboy emulator, such as Visual Boy Advance. So what I want to do is build a device like the Dingoo a320, which is a programmable handheld device. Research it and you'll see what I'm after. It has internal memory that stores the game ROMs and save files, a USB connection, an LCD backlit screen and quite a bit more. So I want to adapt that idea to make a gameboy style handheld like this:
Game Grrl -- Portable Nintendo Game System
with an LCD, an A and B button, directional pad and start and select buttons that has an on/off switch, a headphone jack and volume control, USB connection and internal memory for storage.
I'm planning to use this block diagram:
Portable Gaming Device, Fairchild Semiconductor - Global Leader in Power Optimization
This enclosure (with built in AA battery compartment):
**broken link removed**
The buttons will come from a Nintendo NES controller
The headphone jack and wheel potentiometer for the sound and the SPST switch for On/Off will come from Radio Shack