Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Please could some one look at this timer circuit - need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

icom128

Hi, I have built a timer circuit that I found on the web. I am quite new to electronics, and
it wouldn't surprise me if I have made a mistake in producing the pcb.
The timer is needed to shut off an 18v dc charge to a 14.4v drill battery at approx 2 hours.
The strange thing is, this schematic works when tested with the livewire simulation program.
But doesn't work on my etched pcb.

I added a 7812 regulator to drop the voltage from 18v to 12v for the relay coil and 4060b
their is 12v present on pin 12 of the 4060b but nothing happens e:g no leds light ect.
I have also tried various 4060b's and various bc547's in case they were faulty.
I also looked for broken tracks or shorts on the pcb, but all seems OK.
I have adjusted the 470k pot , still nothing happens.

the yellow led should light at 28 seconds to give a 2 hour period before pin 1 of ic energizes the relay to shut off the 18v charge. The green led should flash to indicated the count sequence. I have attached the schematic , and my pcb layout , and my pcb foil side for some one to kindly inspect, and maybe spot an error that I have possibly made.

Thanks in advance for any help offered.